Welcome to the West Somerset Cricket League

Welcome to the New Season

At the start of the 2018 season, we are delighted to announce that Ashley Easden has agreed to take on the post of Secretary. We hope he will enjoy working with the committee and with all clubs, and that everyone will go out of their way to ensure that the season proceeds smoothly.

it will take some time for Ashley to get used to all the different aspects of this post, and so it is essential that all clubs stick to the following rule introduced last year. If you have any queries(e.g. concerning the rules) or complaints, please send them to one of your league representatives AS AN EMAIL. If necessary, they will then pass them on to the relevant league officers, who will give you an answer as soon as they can. Please do not contact any other league officer directly and please do not telephone the reps, because in most cases communications will have to be referred to other members of the committee. The reps themselves cannot make instant decisions.

We would be grateful if you would pass these instructions on to any of your members who are authorized to act on behalf of your club. The same applies to various new rules that have been introduced this year, both by the league (as passed at the AGM) and by the ECB. Many problems are caused by poor communications within the clubs themselves, and it is always better to avoid trouble than to have to sort it out later!

With many thanks in advance for your cooperation, and best wishes for an enjoyable season.

The league representatives are:

Division 1:
James Rexworthy jimmer2005@gmail.com
Dennis Quick dennisquick@hotmail.co.uk
Division 2:
Brian Boundy morebathcc@hotmail.com
Carl Hooper carlhooperlfc@aol.com
Division 3:
Marcus Walker walkers84@btinternet.com
Roy Takle roytakle@btinternet.com
Division 4:
Mark Francis mark@mark-francis.co.uk
Steve Chinnock csc1958@outlook.com
Division 5:
Derek Parsons derek@parsons-landscapes.co.uk
Steve White stevewhitenn@googlemail.com

History of the League

On September 18th 1975, a meeting was held at the Wyndham Arms in Williton to discuss the possibility of forming a local cricket league.
The meeting was called by Mike Hayes of Stogumber Cricket Club and Mike Elworthy of Huish Champflower Cricket Club, and of 24 teams invited to the meeting, representatives from 17 attended.

A general discussion followed and the outcome was the decision to form the West Somerset Cricket League.

It officially started the following summer, in 1976, and initially consisted of five local teams – Ashbrittle, Brompton Ralph, Dulverton, Huish Champflower and Stogumber.
The first-ever winners of the league that season were Brompton Ralph, who were presented with the Champions’ Cup by Mrs Enticott.
From that beginning, the league has gone from strength to strength with new teams regularly joining.

Within two years of its formation, another eight teams had joined the League – Crowcombe, Fitzhead and Lydeard St Lawrence in 1977 and Allerford, Cutcombe, Minehead 2nd XI, Over Stowey and Roadwater the following year.

As the reputation of the League grew, more clubs wanted to get involved, and so, in 1979, the League split into two divisions with the introduction of ten more teams – Bathealton, Bridgetown, Carhampton, Chipstable, Exford, Fiddington, Holford, Taunton Mariners, Winsford and Wootton Courtenay – who made up the new second division.
In the same year, founder members Stogumber CC became Williton CC, but have since returned to a new ground in their home village.

The League launched its own Knockout Cup in 1981, which was open to all teams in the League, and Dulverton defeated Brompton Ralph to win the first final. The cup is still competed for each season, and, with the continued growth in the size of the League, a second competition for lower division sides – the Hinkley Point Cup – is also held.

In 1984, the League introduced a third division , and, when a fourth division was launched in 1989, the League comprised 39 teams. A year later, the League took on its current five-division format, and will contain 50 teams for the 2017 season as we welcome Culmstock and Watchet.The current West Somerset Cricket League Champions are Wiveliscombe l.